This server contains information on the British Columbia Political Studies Association (BCPSA) and its activities. The current BCPSA president is Alexander Netherton (Alexander.Netherton@viu.ca) of the Department of Political Studies at Vancouver Island University in Nanaimo, BC.

Papers Presented to the 2000 Annual General Meeting

University of Victoria

May 5-6, 2000

Final Programme

FRIDAY MAY 5, 2000

_______________________________

Friday, May 5, 8:00-8:45

_______________________________

Registration

Rm Classroom Building Lobby

University of Victoria

_______________________________

Friday, May 5, 8:45-9:00

_______________________________

A0 University of Victoria President’s Welcome

Dr. David Strong, FRSC,

President and Vice-Chancellor,

University of Victoria

Rm CRB C103

Classroom Building

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 9:00-10:30

_______________________________

A1 BCPSA I

Rm CRB C108

Canadian Politics: Political Parties

Chair: C. Kukucha ( Christopher_Kukucha@Douglas.BC.CA) (Douglas)

Discussants: K. Brownsey ( brownsey@ivoodoo.net) (Mt. Royal)

J. Hiemstra (jhiemstra@KingsU.ab.ca) (Kings) -Why Canada Failed to Develop Confessional Parties: A Critical Analysis of the Theoretical Explanations

W. Cross ( wcross@mta.ca) (Mt. Allison) – The Professionalization of the Canadian Campaign Industry and Its Influence on the Party System

______________________________

Friday, May 5 9:00-10:30

_______________________________

A2 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session I

Rm C126

Comparative Politics:

European Integration and Nationalism

Chair: S. Phillips ( sphillips@langara.bc.ca) (Langara)

Discussant: O. Schmidtke ( oliver@uvic.ca ) (UVIC)

M. Molchanov ( molchan@uvic.ca) (UVIC) – Nationalizing Policies in Ukraine: a post-colonial syndrome or a matter of expediency?

C. Benedetti (cbenedet@netcom.ca) (McMaster) – Legitimacy and Democracy in the European Union: Challenges for Integration in the 21st Century

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 9:00-10:30

_______________________________

A3 BCPSA II

See A1

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 10:45-12:15

_______________________________

A4 BCPSA III

Rm C126

Political Economy:

Globalization and Primary Industries

Chair: M. Howlett ( howlett@sfu.ca) (SFU)

Discussant: J. Wilson ( jwilson@uvic.ca ) (UVIC)

P. Ropke ( ropke@interchange.ubc.ca) (UBC) – Transnational Corporations, Federalism and the Marketing of Prairie Wheat

A. Netherton ( anethert@sfu.ca) (SFU) – Globalization of Canadian Hydro Politics

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 10:45-12:15

_______________________________

A5 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session II

Rm C116

Political Theory: Classics

Chair: D. Cook ( decook@cariboo.bc.ca) (UCC)

Discussant: T. Kading (tkading@cariboo.bc.ca) (UCC)

D. Nesbitt ( nesbittd@mail.sprint.ca) (Douglas) – T.H. Green and the Hegel Connection

S. Pash ( uq558@victoria.tc.ca) (Toronto) – Machiavelli on Language

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 10:45-12:15

_______________________________

A6 BCPSA IV

Rm C108

Comparative Politics:

Party Preferences and Electoral System Change

Chair: W. Cross ( wcross@mta.ca) (Mt. Alison)

Discussant: N. Loenen ( nloenen@netcom.ca) (ex-MLA)

A. Sayers ( asayers@ucalgary.ca) (Calgary), C. Sharman ( csharman@cyllene.uwa.edu.au) (UWA), A. Miragliotta (UWA) ( nmiragli@cyllene.uwa.edu.au) – Trading Party Preferences: The Australian Experience of Preferential Voting

A. Siaroff ( alan.siaroff@uleth.ca) (Lethbridge) – Spurious Majorities, Electoral Systems, and Electoral System Change

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 12:15-1:30

_______________________________

Dean’s Lunch – Caddies Club (Commons Building)

Host – UVIC Faculty of Social Science

Introduction – Norman Ruff (UVIC and BCPSA)

Welcome – John Schofield, Dean of Social Sciences (UVIC)

Lifetime Honorary Membership Award – Neil Swainson (UVIC)

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 1:30-3:15

_______________________________

A7 BCPSA V

Rm C116

International Relations: International Organizations

Chair: D. Ross ( douglasr@sfu.ca) (SFU)

Discussant: M. Webb ( mwebb@UVic.CA ) (UVIC)

G. Smith ( gordonssmith@home.com ) (UVIC) – Altered States Globalization, Sovereignty, and Governance

M. Fabry ( mfabry@interchange.ubc.ca) (UBC) – International Norms Regarding Territory and the Wars in Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 1:30-3:15

_______________________________

A8 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session III

Rm C108

Public Politics: Canadian Social Policy

Chair: J. Rayner jdrayner@home.com) (Malaspina)

Discussant: J. Boase (jandjboase@telus.net) (Windsor)

S. Phillips (sphillips@langara.bc.ca) (Langara) – The Demise of Universality: The Politics of Federal Income Security in Canada 1978-1993

B. Arneil ( arneil@interchange.ubc.ca ) (UBC) and O. Hankivsky (olena@interchange.ubc.ca) (UBC) – A Preliminary Examination of Social Union Framework Agreement in the context of the Federal Children’s and Health agendas

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 1:30-3:15

_______________________________

A9 BCPSA VI

Rm C114

Political Theory:

Methods and Methodology in Comparative

and Policy Research

Chair: A. Shadrack ( ashadra@pop.kin.bc.ca) (Selkirk)

Discussant: A. Michalos ( michalos@unbc.ca) (UNBC)

A. Migone ( amigone@sfu.ca) (SFU) – Synoptic and Incremental Decision-Making: A Rational Expectations Critique

R. Williams ( russell_williams@sfu.ca ) (SFU) – Symbol and Strategy in Comparative Politics

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 3:30-5:15

_______________________________

A10 BCPSA VII

Rm C108

Canadian Politics:

Parliaments and Procedures

Chair: D. Winchester ( dwinches@capcollege.bc.ca ) (Capilano)

Discussants: T. Morley ( jtmorley@negotiated.com ) (UVIC)

S. Farson ( farson@sfu.ca) (SFU)- Parliament and Its Servants: Their Role in Scrutinizing Canadian intelligence

C. Garner ( christopher.garner@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk) (OXON) – Confused Signals: Party Voting on Private Members Bill

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 3:30-5:15

_______________________________

A11 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session IV

Rm C116

Provincial Politics Roundtable:

BC Legislative, Electoral and Partisan Reform

Chair: N. Ruff ( nruff@uvic.ca) (UVIC)

Participants:

G. Abbott ( George.Abbott.MLA@leg.bc.ca) (MLA)- B.C. Legislative Reform

N. Loenen ( nloenen@netcom.ca) (ex-MLA) – BC Electoral Reform

A. Shadrack (Selkirk) ( ashadra@pop.kin.bc.ca) – Green Party Prospects

_______________________________

Friday, May 5 3:30-5:15

_______________________________

A12 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session V

See A11


_______________________________

Friday, May 5 5:30-6:30

_______________________________

A13 BCPSA/UVIC Public Session

Reception (No-Host)

Graduate Student Centre

_______________________________

_______________________________

SATURDAY MAY 6, 2000

_______________________________

Saturday May 6, 8:15-9:00

_______________________________

BCPSA Annual Business Meeting

Rm C114

_______________________________

Saturday May 6, 9:00-12:00

______________________________

B0 British Columbia Political Science

Articulation General Meeting

Rm CRB C124

_______________________________

Saturday May 6, 9:00-10:30

_______________________________

B1 BCPSA VIII

Rm C116

Provincial Politics: BC

Chair: K. Brownsey ( brownsey@ivoodoo.net) (Mt. Royal)

Discussant: T. Morley ( jtmorley@negotiated.com ) (UVIC)

A. Michalos ( michalos@unbc.ca) (UNBC) and A. Zumbo (UNBC) – British Columbians’ Expectations and Attitudes Going into the Third Millennium

M. Crawford ( mchammer@technologist.com) (Athabaska) – Co-ordination of Communications and Policy Functions in the NDP Governments 1991-1999

P. Smith ( psmith@sfu.ca) (SFU) and K. Stewart (LSE) – BC Municipal Act and Municipal Electoral Reform 1991-200

_______________________________

Saturday May 6, 9:00-10:30

_______________________________

B2 BCPSA IX

Rm C108

Political Theory:

Gender Technology and Democracy

Chair: O. Hankivsky (olena@interchange.ubc.ca) (UBC)

UVIC Grad Students ( llutjen@UVic.CA)

_______________________________

Saturday May 6, 10:45- 12:15

_______________________________

B3 BCPSA X

Rm C108

Urban Politics: Policy and Governance Issues

Chair: M. Crawford ( mchammer@technologist.com) (Athabaska)

Discussant: E. Black ( blacke@golden.net) (Waterloo)

T. Evans ( terri@sfu.ca) (SFU) – An Historical Examination of Metropolitan Restructuring in Canada

A. Touralias ( atourali@sfu.ca) (SFU) – The Policy Cycle Applied to Two Canadian Municipalities with Local Smog Action Plans

S. Edwards ( sedwards@hq.marh.gov.bc.ca) (SFU) – Private-Public Partnerships in BC

_______________________________

Saturday May 6, 10:45- 12:15

_______________________________

B4 BCPSA XI

Rm C116

Comparative Politics:

Electoral Politics U.S. and Iran

Chair: P. Smith ( psmith@sfu.ca) (SFU)

Discussant: A. Sayer( asayers@ucalgary.ca) (UVIC)

K. Hill and G. Hill (hilltopub@aol.com) (RMC) – U.S. Campaigns and Elections

H. Hassan-Yari (hassan- yari-h@rmc.ca) (RMC) – Iranian Elections: from Theocracy to Democracy

_______________________________

Saturday, May 6 12:15-14:00

_______________________________

BC Political Science Articulation Lunch

Sponsored by Dr. David Strong, FRSC,

President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Victoria

Rm Faculty Club

BC Politics Panel: Black and White with Vaughn’s Subtle

Shades Between

Edwin Black (Waterloo)

Vaughn Palmer (Vancouver Sun)

Graham White (Toronto)

Topic: Vaughn Palmer on The Joys and Perils of Covering BC Politics with a brief commentary from Ed Black and Graham White

_______________________________

Saturday , May 6 14:00- 15:30

_______________________________

B5 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session VI

Rm C116

Political Economy: Nafta and Sub-Nationalism

Chair: R. Williams ( russell_williams@sfu.ca ) (SFU)

Discussant: D. Alper ( alper@cc.wwu.edu )

N. Gal-Or ( noemi@kwantlen.bc.ca) (Kwantlen)- Commercial ADR for Small and Medium Size Business in Cross-Border Trade in Cascadia

C. Kukucha ( Christopher_Kukucha@Douglas.BC.CA) (Douglas) – International Trade Regimes and the Formulation of Canadian Foreign Economic Policy: The Evolving Role of the Provinces (1985- 1999)

_______________________________

Saturday , May 6 14:00- 15:30

_______________________________

B6 BCPSA XII

Rm C126

Public Policy: Subsystems and Subsectors

Chair: P. Whyte ( whyte@nic.bc.ca ) (North Island)

Discussant: J. Wilson ( jwilson@uvic.ca) (UVIC)

M. Howlett ( howlett@sfu.ca) (SFU) and J. Rayner ( jdrayner@home.com) (Malaspina) – Critical Sub-Sectors and Policy Dynamics

R. Lapointe ( Russell_LaPointe@bc.sympatico.ca) (SFU) – Policy Subsystems and Emergency Preparedness

_______________________________

Saturday , May 6 14:00- 15:30

_______________________________

B7 BCPSA XIII

Rm C130

Political Economy: Technology and Politics

Chair: B. Souder ( souder@sfu.ca) (Telus)

Discussant: L. Dobuzinskis ( dobuzins@sfu.ca) (SFU)

E. Black ( blacke@golden.net) (Waterloo) – Political Bias and Information Technologies

M. Millar ( mmiller@yorku.ca) (York) – The Politics of Domestic Technology: Machines, Ideology and Home- based Work Since the 1970s

_______________________________

Saturday , May 6 15:45- 17:30

_______________________________

B8 BCPSA XIV

Rm C126

Comparative Politics: East Asia

Chair: L. Elmose (lelmose@sfu.ca) (SFU)

Discussant: A. Siaroff ( alan.siaroff@uleth.ca) (Lethbridge)

W. Kwan ( kwanwy@excite.com) (Hong Kong) – The Interactions of Political Parties, Trade Unions and the Sunset Government in Hong Kong in Policy Making Process: A Case Study on Labor Legislation in 1991-1997

M. Blackburn ( henjin@uvic.ca) (UVIC) – Movements of Power and Acts of Resistance: Falun Gong and New Visions of Political and Social Movements

_______________________________

Saturday , May 15 15:45- 17:30

_______________________________

B9 Joint Articulation/BCPSA Session VII

Rm C108

BCPSA/Articulation:

Teaching Canadian Politics Panel

Chair: M. Meade ( meade@mala.bc.ca ) (Malaspina)

Participants:

N. Ruff ( nruff@uvic.ca) (UVIC)

D. Winchester ( dwinches@capcollege.bc.ca ) (Capilano)

C. Kukucha ( Christopher_Kukucha@Douglas.BC.CA) (Douglas)

M. Hancock (Marlene_Hancock@Douglas.BC.CA ) (Douglas)

_______________________________

Saturday , May 6 15:45- 17:30

_______________________________

B10 BCPSA XV

Rm C116

Political Theory: Liberalism and Rights

Chair: J. Tully ( jtully@uvic.ca) (UVIC)

Discussant: A. Eisenberg ( avigaile@uvic.ca ) (UVIC)

D. Preece ( dvpreece@sfu.ca) (SFU) – A Critique of the Persistent Inequality of Liberal Universalism

A. Heard ( aheard@sfu.ca) (SFU) – Minority Rights and Constitutional Reform in Canada

_______________________________

Saturday , May 6 17:30- 18:30

_______________________________

Reception (No-Host)

Faculty Club